My Gibson ES-175

December 17, 2009 at 5:40 pm 3 comments

I really like the 16″, 24.75″ scale Gibson Archtops. I already have two, the L-4CES and L-4C. The somewhat iconic Gibson ES-295, played by Scotty Moore with Elvis, is also this same form factor. The ES-295 is also of exactly the same construction as an ES-175: a laminated maple body with a 1-piece mahogany neck. The L-4’s have carved, solid spruce tops.

I got this particular guitar not because I wanted another jazz archtop. I am very happy with my two L-4’s and Orchid. Rather, I wanted to try for a slightly meatier sound for my power trio stuff. Again, not that I am unhappy with my Starfire, which I have been using for this purpose, but I did want to see.

The requirements were that the ES-175 have P-90s (which unaffordable early 50’s versions have) and occasional new ones have. Typically they come with humbuckers. A Bigsby was also a requirement, although making that swap with the stock tailpiece is not a big deal — and I did exactly that here.

This particular guitar has had some prior surgery — the P-90s are not original, and the pickguard is relocated to make room for them. All the work seems to have been done very nicely, however.

My Gibson ES-175

So far it seems to be doing what I hoped.

I made a quick recording to illustrate some aspects of its sound. The tune is “Sometime Tuesday Morning”, which is the title track from Johnny A’s first album. He has been a big influence for me. My version is a quite literal cover.

Stream

MP3

Entry filed under: Guitar, Jazz, jazz fusion, Music, Pro Tools, Smooth Jazz.

Holiday Music Favorites IV (2009) New Original Tune on Newest Guitar

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian  |  December 18, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Richard, I love the sound your getting from that. Some great tonal differences.

    Reply
  • 2. Michael  |  May 5, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Hi, I’ve got exactly the same year es-175 and I have been tempted to put in some P-90’s for some more bite (I used to own an es-330). Instead, I changed the pots to 500k and put in Lollar Imperial low winds which have increased clarity a lot. How do the pickup adapter/risers look close-up? I love your clips by the way.

    Reply
    • 3. shufflocity  |  May 6, 2010 at 10:48 am

      Lollars are great pickups. I have them in my Warmoth Tele & Strat.

      Interesting about the pots — I would have expected you already had 500k pots in there.

      In my ES-175, the adapters/risers look excellent. Whoever did the installation did a first rate job. You would never know it was a conversion.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other followers

Categories

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

