Revisiting Some Vintage Instrumentals

January 3, 2010 at 10:41 am Leave a comment

I began this blog in September of 2007, back when I was in the middle of my “Vintage Instrumentals” project. That particular endeavor took more than a year, consisted of making Guitar/Bass/Drums trio arrangements, and resulted in over forty songs recorded. You can click through the “Free Music” link at the lower right and the to “Vintage Instrumentals” to listen to any or all of them should you be interested. A number of blog posts were about this project as well, as a browse through posts from my first few months of blogging will reveal:

While that project led to my arranging many songs that were originally vocal, my favorites remain those that were originally instrumental. In particular, I have a special fondness for the Ventures, Hank Marvin and the Shadows, and surf-guitar instrumentals in general.

Over the past year, as my focus has been on what I loosely call my “Power Trio” of Guitar/Bass/Drums, I have redone some of those instrumental recordings. The main goals have been to redo the drums with more realistic loops, actually play and record the bass parts (rather than letting the computer play them via midi) and redo the guitar parts with the more aggressive guitar sound I am using now with the “Power Trio”. However, I have not altered the basic arrangements, as I remain pleased with those. I have also done these recordings in ProTools, as my comfort in that rather overwhelming environment continues to — however slowly — improve.

So, here are five recordings. The recordings of Pipeline and Apache were done over the summer, and I originally intended to release them on the Just the Three of Me CD. However, copyright hassles and costs led me to eliminate all the cover tunes I had prepared. Both of these tracks use the Guild Starfire III-90 as the lead guitar. Pipeline is of course the classic surf guitar instrumental originally by the Chantays.  Apache was originally released by Hank Marvin and the Shadows, but Americans are more familiar with versions by the Ventures and Jurgen Ingemann.

The recordings of Atlantis, Walk Don’t Run and Wonderful Land were just completed and were done with the Gibson ES-175Walk Don’t Run was the Ventures biggest hit, actually released twice in two different versions. My arrangement is based more on their second version.  Atlantis and Wonderful Land were hits in Europe for Hank Marvin and the Shadows in the 60’s; most Americans are unlikely to be familiar with them. I think they are great tunes.  Apache, Atlantis, and Wonderful Land were all written by Jerry Lordan. There is quite a bit more information about Hank Marvin & the Shadows and Jerry Lordan in my post here.

Stream MP3
  1. Walk Don’t Run
  2. Wonderful Land
  3. Atlantis
  4. Apache
  5. Pipeline
  1. Walk Don’t Run
  2. Wonderful Land
  3. Atlantis
  4. Apache
  5. Pipeline
Entry filed under: bass guitar, Guitar, jazz fusion, Music, Oldies, Pro Tools, Shadows, Ventures, Vintage Instrumentals.

New Original Tune on Newest Guitar 5-String Bass

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Categories

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

