Paul Reed Smith Custom 22 Soapbar (addendum III)

April 3, 2010 at 2:17 pm Leave a comment

I’ve made two more recordings with my new PRS. One is a redo of a song previously posted called “Sally’s Midnight Blues”.  It’s recast here into the quartet format (my approach with my CD, (could be) *Live* (but isn’t), somewhat in the style of Booker T and the MGs:

Stream

MP3

The second is the Eric Clapton’s “Layla”. I’ve always enjoyed playing this tune, so I thought I’d go ahead and try recording it. It’s also the quartet format:

Stream

MP3

On both recordings I played the bass as well.

One of the great things I’ve learned about my PRS is that its natural sustain is so excellent that I can use less gain on the amp and still get the singing quality I’m after with this style. My Anderson Cobra doesn’t ring as well so I have to increase the gain or compression to get there.

Entry filed under: bass guitar, Guitar, Jazz, jazz fusion, Music, Oldies, Smooth Jazz.

New Fusion Quartet Recording New Videos

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Categories

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

