Old Guy Plays “Sukiyaki”

May 22, 2015 at 3:56 pm Leave a comment

This episode of “Old Guy Plays Oldies” is Sukiyaki, which was written by Rokusuke Ei and Hachidai Nakamura and released by Kyu Sakamoto. It climbed to the top of the US charts in 1963. Its original Japanese title translates as “I look up when it walk”. The title Sukiyaki was chosen as a Japanese word most likely to be familiar to Americans. Sukiyaki is of course a dish with beef and vegetables.

For those interested in more info about this song and its backstory:

The original recording by Kyu Sakamoto benefits from a vocal performance that conveys considerable emotion – even to those who cannot understand the Japanese lyrics. Kyu Sakamoto was a very popular performer in Asia, and during his USA popularity appeared on the Ed Sullivan Show. He was killed in an airplane crash in 1985.

The English lyrics people are likely to know are not particularly faithful to the original, so a translation of the original Japanese follows.

I look up when I walk
So the tears won’t fall
Remembering those happy spring days
But tonight I’m all alone

I look up when I walk
Counting the stars with tearful eyes
Remembering those happy summer days
But tonight I’m all alone

Happiness lies beyond the clouds
Happiness lies above the sky

I look up when I walk
So the tears won’t fall
Though my heart is filled with sorrow
For tonight I’m all alone

Remembering those happy autumn days
But tonight I’m all alone

Sadness hides in the shadow of the stars
Sadness lurks in the shadow of the moon

I look up when I walk
So the tears won’t fall
Though my heart is filled with sorrow
For tonight I’m all alone

Entry filed under: bass guitar, Chord Melody, Guitar, Music, Oldies, Pro Tools, ProTools, Surf, Video, Vintage Instrumentals.

Cool Cats Medley Old Guy Plays “Because”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 104 other followers

Categories

May 2015
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

